Jefferson J-Hawk Football

Dave Long Defensive MVP Award

Thad Miller Courage Award

History...Robert Ask was a member of the first J-Hawk varsity football staff, serving from 1957 through 1981. His efforts produced three state championships, three state runners-up, and eight MVC conference championships. The overall winning percentage during that quarter century was over 70%. He continues to this day to be Jefferson footballs biggest supporter.

Larry McDowell Special Teams Play of the Year Award

Jon Meskimen Big Hit Award

Larry Lawrence Offensive MVP Award

Dan Shonka Scout Team Player Award

Layne McDowell Iron Man of the Year Award

Blake Tiedtke Lifter of the Year Award

John Blessman Most Improved Player Award

Robert Ask J-Hawk Pride Award

Beginning in the fall of 2012, at the suggestion of Head Coach Brian Webb, the season end awards will henceforth be attributed to deserving former J-Hawk football players and coaches who demonstrated an outstanding contribution to the gridiron.  They will forever live in our hearts and on the pages of Jefferson Football's excellent history.

J-Hawk Football Awards

​History...​​​​​Larry Lawrence was an outstanding quarterback on the great 1965 and 1966 teams. He was first team All State and also earned High School All American status. He went on to play QB for the Iowa Hawkeyes and in the NFL, finishing with the Oakland Raiders.

History...Dave Long was a 1961 All state lineman who went on to become a three year starter for the Iowa Hawkeyes at defensive end. He later was an impact player in the NFL for the St Louis Cardinals and New Orleans Saints.

History...Thad Miller was a defensive back and punter on the 1972 State Championship team. He is in the Jefferson Football Hall of Fame. He was tragically killed shortly after graduation in a car accident.

History...Layne McDowell was a first team All-State lineman on the undefeated 1966 squad. He was also named a HS All American. He went on to start for three years for the Iowa Hawkeyes. He was drafted by the NE Patriots playing with them for a year, overcoming numerous injuries/surgeries. Refusing to leave the sport, he became an All Star offensive tackle for the British Columbia Lions where he enjoyed a long career.

History...Larry McDowell was an All-State football player in 1962 for the State Runner-Up J-Hawks. He continues to maintain the school record for punting (average in a season). He went on to punt for the Iowa Hawkeyes as a three year starter.

History…Dan Shonka was a reserve letterman on the 1964-1965 State Championship teams. While never a starter, he was a dedicated scout team role-player. He coached at the high school and college level including ISU, Purdue, Rice, and Kansas. Shonka then became a NFL scout for the Philadelphia Eagles, Washington Redskins, and Kansas City Chiefs. Today he is general manager and founder of NFL scouting services.

History...Jon Meskimen was a first team All-State halfback and linebacker in 1965. He went on to be a three year letterman and (twice) first team All-Big Ten pulling guard for the Iowa Hawkeyes. During that time he was also a co-captain for the Hawkeyes in 1965 as well as a pre-season all-american.  He later became head coach at Iowa City West.

History…Blake Tiedtke was a 2000 first team Elite All-State defensive back who went on to be a three year letterman starting for the Nebraska Huskers Black Shirt defense. With a PhD in Physical Training he has devoted his career to fitness and strength training athletes in the corridor.

History…John Blessman did not start as a junior in 1966. As a senior in 1967 he was a first team All-State guard who also earned HS All American status.